SIN02 is now separately evidenced as under construction. Current phase-specific sources state 180 MW IT, while the May 2026 investment and programme releases call it a 200 MW building without stating the…
Read overviewSINES Data Campus — SIN02
Sines, Portugal
Watch this site
Watch SINES Data Campus — SIN02
Register interest in updates to planning status, grid position, capacity claims, delivery teams and policy exposure. Every Power Reality Check client receives 60 days of Site Watch on their assessed site when monitoring is available.
15 cited sources · 10 utility and planning categories reviewed.
Review evidence and gapsObtain the phase connection agreement, voltage and firm import MW/MVA, construction and energisation status for each line and the private substation, and reconcile the 120/180/200/240 MW building scopes.
Open the full checkOverview
SIN02 is now separately evidenced as under construction. Current phase-specific sources state 180 MW IT, while the May 2026 investment and programme releases call it a 200 MW building without stating the electrical basis. APA assessed a historical 120 MW IT per-building design in 2023, and Start Campus described a 240 MW IT upper phase scope in August 2024; these figures are conflicting/superseded scopes, not additive capacity. The environmental decisions remain conditional, and planned 400/150 kV infrastructure is not proof of an energised SIN02 import right.
- Developer / applicant
- Start Campus
- Owner
- Start Campus — 50-year surface right recorded by APA over IAPMEI-owned Zone 9 land
- Operator
- Start Campus
Planning and delivery status
Errigal's current SIN02 portfolio records a September 2026 commencement for its fit-out package; the source supplies month precision only. Start Campus targets H2 2027 for operation, which remains a target rather than commissioning evidence.
Stage source: Publication date unstatedProject intelligence. This record does not establish that the land or facility is available to acquire.
POWER STUDY
Power
What the power evidence establishes
The site-specific connection scope has not been established for this record.
No same-scope, dated import-MVA rung has document-seen or better verification. Nearby infrastructure, IT MW and marketing claims cannot upgrade the class.
The class describes published documentary evidence at its stated date. It does not prove current contractual rights, transferability or an energisation date.
Class describes evidence maturity. Public records do not prove current contractual rights, transferable capacity or an energisation date. This record has not received a complete power study review.
Read the rules and verification levelsCapacity ladder and evidence
Each rung is a separate MVA claim for its stated site or phase. A missing rung is unknown.
Applied
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What applied mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?Offered
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What offered mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?Accepted / contracted
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What accepted or contracted mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?Energised
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What energised mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?Conflicts and scope comparisons
No conflicting pair is recorded. This does not establish that all public statements have been reconciled.
Portugal grid context
Network publications frame the claim. They do not allocate capacity to this site.
No country context entries have been linked to this site. Applicable policy, capacity information and reinforcement dependencies need review.
Derived energisation window
The observed inputs do not establish a bounded delivery range. Open bounds stay unknown.
Rule
Use only a same-scope, dated, document-verified capacity rung and an applicable duration to energisation published by the observed site operator. The named process operator and a named source publisher must match that operator. Earliest year is the maximum of stage date plus minimum duration and each evidenced readiness constraint. Latest year is the maximum of stage date plus maximum duration and each published upper constraint only when every required input is bounded. An offer-processing duration is excluded. A missing required input leaves the affected bound unknown; no padding or contractual delivery promise is inferred.
No observed inputs establish this result.
Dependencies driving the range
- Connection-dependent reinforcement scope and completion dates: unknown.
- Grid-works planning status and programme: unknown.
- Applicable connection-policy conditions and programme: unknown.
What the earliest case requires
- Connection-dependent reinforcement scope and completion dates introduces no later constraint than the earliest case; this remains unverified.
- Grid-works planning status and programme introduces no later constraint than the earliest case; this remains unverified.
- Applicable connection-policy conditions and programme introduces no later constraint than the earliest case; this remains unverified.
Missing inputs leave the range open
- A dated, document-verified import-MVA rung for the assessed scope.
- An applicable duration from the evidenced stage to energisation, published by and matched to the observed site operator, rather than an offer-processing target.
- Connection-dependent reinforcement scope and completion dates
- Grid-works planning status and programme
- Applicable connection-policy conditions and programme
Indicative HV and connection capex
Unknown
Rule and scope
Sum each published complete scope quantity multiplied by the matching published benchmark minimum and maximum. Configuration, voltage, route type, unit, country applicability, currency and explicit price base year must match. No assumed route length, transformer count, exchange rate, inflation, fee uplift or partial index is inserted. The result is an indicative benchmark band, not an operator quotation or contractual connection charge.
No observed inputs establish this result.
Scope questions
- Obtain a published complete connection scope with voltage, configuration and measured quantities.
- Establish that every necessary connection-work component is included in the published scope.
- Identify network and customer works, upstream reinforcement, land and wayleaves, taxes, fees, securities, contingency and the price base.
Alternatives and policy exposure
Behind-the-meter generation
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What behind-the-meter generation is evidenced, and at what scope?Planning / policy requirement
Not established from the public records reviewed.
Does the applicable planning or connection policy require behind-the-meter generation?Battery storage
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What battery storage is evidenced, and at what scope?Planning / policy requirement
Not established from the public records reviewed.
Does the applicable planning or connection policy require battery storage?Private wire
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What a private wire is evidenced, and at what scope?Planning / policy requirement
Not established from the public records reviewed.
Does the applicable planning or connection policy require a private wire?Gas
Not established from the public records reviewed.
What gas supply or generation is evidenced, and at what scope?Planning / policy requirement
Not established from the public records reviewed.
Does the applicable planning or connection policy require gas supply or generation?Connection claim against current policy
Not established from the public records reviewed.
Does the published connection claim meet the policy applicable to its application date, location and agreement status?Open questions for a Reality Check
Generated from unknown fields, missing derivation inputs and unresolved evidence. The questions identify the documents or specialist checks needed next.
60 questions to resolve
- Which TSO or DSO is responsible for this demand connection?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the operator-confirmed connection substation or circuit?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What voltage level is specified for the demand connection?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What are the evidenced site and connection-point coordinates, and their calculated straight-line distance?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What grid route length is published, and for which circuit?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What applied mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the effective date of the applied connection evidence?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which buildings or phases does the applied connection evidence cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What evidence level can be supported for capacityLadder.applied?
Verification has not been established.
- What offered mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the effective date of the offered connection evidence?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which buildings or phases does the offered connection evidence cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What evidence level can be supported for capacityLadder.offered?
Verification has not been established.
- What accepted or contracted mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the effective date of the accepted connection evidence?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which buildings or phases does the accepted connection evidence cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What evidence level can be supported for capacityLadder.accepted?
Verification has not been established.
- What energised mva is evidenced for the assessed site scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the effective date of the energised connection evidence?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which buildings or phases does the energised connection evidence cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What evidence level can be supported for capacityLadder.energised?
Verification has not been established.
- What connection agreement type and current status are documented?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Does the agreement impose phased import-capacity limits?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What flexibility or curtailment obligations apply?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What on-site generation obligations apply?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What securities are required, posted and still valid?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What connection longstop or milestone dates apply?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the published IT load in MW?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- On what electrical basis is the IT load in MW stated?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which phase or campus does the IT load in MW cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the published facility load in MW?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- On what electrical basis is the facility load in MW stated?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which phase or campus does the facility load in MW cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What is the published import capacity in MVA?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- On what electrical basis is the import capacity in MVA stated?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which phase or campus does the import capacity in MVA cover?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What operator-published connection-to-energisation duration applies to this site and connection stage?
An application-to-offer processing target is not an energisation duration.
- Which reinforcements does the connection depend on, and what dates are published?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which grid works require planning, and what is their current consent status and dated programme?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which connection-policy conditions apply, and when could they be satisfied?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What complete connection scope is published: bays, stations, voltage, circuits, route lengths and underground or overhead configuration?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Is the published connection scope complete enough to match every component to a sourced benchmark?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What behind-the-meter generation is evidenced, and at what scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Does the applicable planning or connection policy require behind-the-meter generation?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What battery storage is evidenced, and at what scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Does the applicable planning or connection policy require battery storage?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What a private wire is evidenced, and at what scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Does the applicable planning or connection policy require a private wire?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- What gas supply or generation is evidenced, and at what scope?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Does the applicable planning or connection policy require gas supply or generation?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Does the published connection claim meet the policy applicable to its application date, location and agreement status?
Not established from the public records reviewed.
- Which checked country-grid sources and location-specific constraints apply to this connection?
No country-context relationship has been established for this record.
- Identify network and customer works, upstream reinforcement, land and wayleaves, taxes, fees, securities, contingency and the price base.
Connection-cost scope question.
- Resolve the energisation input: A dated, document-verified import-MVA rung for the assessed scope.
This missing input leaves an energisation bound unknown.
- Resolve the energisation input: An applicable duration from the evidenced stage to energisation, published by and matched to the observed site operator, rather than an offer-processing target.
This missing input leaves an energisation bound unknown.
- Resolve the energisation input: Connection-dependent reinforcement scope and completion dates
This missing input leaves an energisation bound unknown.
- Resolve the energisation input: Grid-works planning status and programme
This missing input leaves an energisation bound unknown.
- Resolve the energisation input: Applicable connection-policy conditions and programme
This missing input leaves an energisation bound unknown.
- Obtain a published complete connection scope with voltage, configuration and measured quantities.
This scope or reference gap prevents a complete indicative connection capex band.
- Establish that every necessary connection-work component is included in the published scope.
This scope or reference gap prevents a complete indicative connection capex band.
Request an assessment of this record and the evidence needed next. Share only public information or documents you are authorised to provide.
Request a Reality CheckEarlier capacity notes and source context
SIN02 design figure stated by Start Campus in May 2025 and by Gleeds on its current phase-specific project page. It is not an import entitlement or disclosed leased load.
Published claimProject source recordSecond-building figure in the May 2026 Nscale and Start Campus releases. The electrical basis is not stated and it is not disclosed leased load.
Published claimCapacity sourcePer-building maximum for SIN02–SIN06 assessed in APA's 2023 environmental process; not current capacity or an import right.
Published claimCapacity sourceAugust 2024 Start Campus description of each SIN02–SIN06 building as up to 240 MW IT. Later phase-specific sources state 180 MW IT and 200 MW unspecified; the scopes remain unresolved and are not additive.
Published claimCapacity sourceThe authority record assesses a private 400/150 kV substation and two 400 kV lines from the REN Sines substation. RECAPE records Line 1 at about 8.4 km and Line 2 at about 7.3–7.7 km, with Line 2 separated for a joint environmental process. Start Campus says the whole campus received an allocation supporting up to 1.2 GW IT, but no public source establishes a signed SIN02 import MW/MVA right, energisation or independent operational feeds.
IT load, facility demand, import capacity and equipment ratings retain their stated scope. A published figure does not establish spare or transferable supply.
Planning & utilities
10 of 10 categories contain evidence. Each status applies to its specific claim.
Planning & decisions
Partial evidenceAPA issued a conditional favourable AIA decision on 10 August 2023 for the SIN02–SIN06 expansion and a conditional environmental-conformity decision on 11 November 2024. A current alteration removes only the LMAT1 cork-oak DIUP condition; it does not make the whole project unconditional or prove municipal/building authorisation.
Sources & next check
Land-use zoning
DocumentedAPA places the expansion in Zone 9 of ZILS and records the land as allocated to industrial and energy-production use. That adopted industrial context is not itself a data-centre permission or evidence that later planning revisions leave every phase condition unchanged.
Sources & next check
Grid & import rights
Partial evidenceThe authority record assesses a private 400/150 kV substation and two 400 kV lines from the REN Sines substation. RECAPE records Line 1 at about 8.4 km and Line 2 at about 7.3–7.7 km, with Line 2 separated for a joint environmental process. Start Campus says the whole campus received an allocation supporting up to 1.2 GW IT, but no public source establishes a signed SIN02 import MW/MVA right, energisation or independent operational feeds.
Sources & next check
Fibre & dark fibre
Partial evidenceDE-CIX announced service live at the SINES DC campus in September 2024 and EXA previously announced two Sines–Madrid terrestrial routes. These are campus-level signals centred on operating SIN01, not proof of a SIN02 handoff, dark-fibre rights, route entries or physically diverse operational paths.
Sources & next check
Ownership & development control
DocumentedAPA identifies the Zone 9 land as owned by IAPMEI, managed by AICEP Global Parques, and records Start Campus's acquisition of a 50-year surface right for data-centre development and operation. This is development control, not fee-simple ownership or proof that the interest is transferable.
Sources & next check
Land, footprint & access
Partial evidenceThe authority process records a 594,595 m² expansion establishment for SIN02–SIN06 and five data-centre buildings plus a common building. Gleeds describes SIN02 as a two-storey building with about 30,000 m² gross floor area. Neither figure supplies a cadastral SIN02 boundary or complete legal-access evidence.
Sources & next check
Flood, ground & environment
Partial evidenceThe expansion has conditional AIA and DCAPE outcomes and lies near the Costa Sudoeste protected area, with habitat, cork-oak, marine and construction-monitoring obligations. The current alteration removes one LMAT1 condition after agency review; all other conditions and monitoring duties must be checked individually.
Sources & next check
Water, cooling & heat
Partial evidenceThe assessed design uses a seawater cooling circuit and the RECAPE programme evaluates a maximum-discharge scenario of 16.85 m³/s. This is an environmental design/monitoring scenario, not current SIN02 operating flow, freshwater consumption or proof that the final system is commissioned.
Sources & next check
Demand & location fit
DocumentedNscale identifies Microsoft as the compute customer for more than 66,000 Rubin GPUs at Start Campus from late 2027, and Start Campus assigns the programme to SIN02. This proves an allocated demand relationship, not leased MW, residual availability or Microsoft ownership of the real estate.
Sources & next check
Programme & delivery
Partial evidenceErrigal's current portfolio records a September 2026 commencement for its SIN02 fit-out package and names Winthrop Technologies as its client. Gleeds describes the project as ongoing. Start Campus's H2 2027 operating date remains a target, and the sources do not prove shell completion, energisation or commissioning.
Sources & next check
Project team
Appointments are limited to the project, phase and scope supported by each source.
Project manager
SIN02 PMO; the project page also lists cost and contract management, health and safety, sustainability, procurement and information-management services.
Appointment sourceSpecialists & vendors
SIN02 specialist fit-out package including partitions, ceilings, secondary steel, glazing, finishes, firestopping, sanitaryware and security works. This is not evidence that Errigal is the general contractor.
Appointment sourceNamed by Errigal as client for its SIN02 fit-out package. The source does not establish Winthrop's wider project role or sole general-contractor status.
Appointment sourceTransformer and integrated-engineering supplier for the shared SIN02–SIN06 expansion; not a SIN02-exclusive appointment.
Appointment sourceUnlisted roles have no project-specific appointment recorded.
Sources
Publication dates are shown where known. Review dates do not establish approval or commissioning.
- APA — AIA3633 process and conditional environmental decisionsiaia.apambiente.pt · 10 Aug 2023
- APA — AIA3633 assessment opinion for SIN02–SIN06siaia.apambiente.pt · Publication date unstated
- APA — RECAPE564 conditional conformity decisionsiaia.apambiente.pt · 11 Nov 2024
- APA — current alteration to the RECAPE564 conformity decisionsiaia.apambiente.pt · Publication date unstated
- Gleeds — SIN02 project services and design scopegleeds.com · Publication date unstated
- Errigal — current SIN02 fit-out and September 2026 commencementerrigal-group.com · Publication date unstated
- Start Campus — OCP Ready certification and 180 MW IT designstartcampus.pt · 1 May 2025
- Nscale — Microsoft Rubin deployment at Start Campusnscale.com · 5 May 2026
- Start Campus — SIN02 programme and Microsoft–Nscale demandblog.startcampus.pt · 12 May 2026
- Siemens Energy · Other evidencestartcampus.pt · Publication date unstated
- APA — RECAPE564 environmental monitoring programmesiaia.apambiente.pt · Publication date unstated
- Start Campus — expanded campus power-allocation claimstartcampus.pt · 8 Aug 2024
- Start Campus — DE-CIX ready for service at the Sines campusstartcampus.pt · 25 Sept 2024
- EXA — proposed diverse Sines–Madrid terrestrial routesexainfra.net · 10 Jul 2023
- APA — RECAPE564 environmental titlesiaia.apambiente.pt · 11 Nov 2024
Original documents and maps retain their rights. Public access does not grant commercial redistribution rights.
